24 Hours after a Formula One race (Behind The Scenes)

Ever wondered what happens back at the factory when the team returns after a race weekend?

Well, wonder no more as Red Bull take you behind the scenes at Infiniti Red Bull Racing to follow Christian Horner as he gets to grips with the Monday after Italian Grand Prix.

What’s discussed within the team? What’s planned for Singapore? What are the Team’s next steps? And most important of all, what exactly appears on Daniel Ricciardo’s expense claims sheet?

Watch this film to find out the answers to all those questions and more…

Formula E: Ho-Pin Tung


Ho-Pin Tung is a Chinese racing driver who has competed in a range of motorsport series around the globe. Tung spent his early years in the Netherlands and began karting in 1997, winning the Dutch Cup in 1999. After spending a few years in Europe competing in a number of Formula Ford series, Tung raced in the Formula BMW Asia series, winning the series at the first attempt. As a result, Tung tested a Williams F1 car in December 2003.

The following season, Tung graduated to German Formula 3 and to won the championship in 2006. That year, Tung also represented Team China in the A1 Grand Prix championship and finished on the podium in the second Australian race.

Between 2007 and 2010, Tung raced for a number of teams in GP2. He came second in the sprint race of the 2008 Monaco GP2 round and finished 18th in the championship that year. In 2009 Tung took part in Superleague Formula, racing for the Atletico Madrid team in the first half of the season and Galatasaray, winning one race.

In 2009 Tung tested for the Renault F1 Team and was made the team’s official third driver early the following season. In 2011 Tung made his IndyCar series debut for Dragon Racing and finished 27th at Sonoma. Tung began racing in the Porsche Carrera Cup Asia in 2012 and has become a regular race winner. He made his debut at the Le Mans 24 Hours in 2013 and finished in 12th place in 2014.

Career Highlights

2014 – WEC with Oak Racing-Team Asia, 12th Le Mans 24 Hours, Porsche CC Asia.
2013 – 2 wins in the Asian Le Mans Series and 1 win in Porsche CC Asia.
2012 – 3 podiums in Porsche CC Asia.
2011 – IndyCar debut with Dragon Racing, 2 races in FIA GT 1 with Team China.
2010 – Reserve driver for Renault F1 team and 28th in GP2.
2009 – 1 win in Superleague Formula and tests for Renault F1 team.
2008 – 18th in GP2 with a podium finish in Monaco sprint race.
2007 – A1 Grand Prix with team China with one 3rd place.
2006 – 9 wins and German F3 champion.
2005 – 2 wins and 3rd in German F3.
2004 – 7th in German F3.
2003 – Formula BMW Asia champion.
1999 – Dutch Cup karting champion.

Formula E: What is FanBoost?


Fans can give their favourite driver an extra speed boost by voting for them prior to the race.

Who gets the FanBoost?

The three drivers with the most votes will each receive one five-second ‘power boost’, temporarily increasing their car’s power from 150kw (202.5bhp) to 180kw (243bhp).

How do I vote?

Votes can be cast online at http://www.fiaformulae.com as well as via broadcasters, sponsors and numerous partners websites including in China.

How many votes do I get?

Fans vote for one driver.

When does the vote close?

The vote closes 1 hour prior to the race.

Can I change my vote?

A vote can be changed at anytime up until the vote closes, the final registered vote is the only one that counts.

Can the vote be shared?

Every time a person votes and changes their vote it can be onto their Facebook timeline, as a hashtag in their Twitter timeline and on their Sina Weibo timeline.

When does the vote close?

The vote closes on the day of the race.

When is FanBoost announced?

The FanBoost recipients are revealed 20mins before the race starts on the official Formula E website and social media channels as well as on Television.

How is the vote protected?

We are a working with PriceWaterhouseCoopers to independently adjudicate the vote collection and counting procedure.

Formula E: 2014 / 2015 Calendar


Round ePrix Country Track Date
1 Beijing ePrix  China Beijing Olympic Green Circuit 13 September 2014
2 Putrajaya ePrix  Malaysia Putrajaya Street Circuit 22 November 2014
3 Punta del Este ePrix  Uruguay Punta del Este Street Circuit 13 December 2014
4 Buenos Aires ePrix  Argentina Puerto Madero Street Circuit 10 January 2015
5 TBA TBA TBA 14 February 2015
6 Miami ePrix  United States Downtown Miami 14 March 2015
7 Long Beach ePrix  United States Long Beach Street Circuit 4 April 2015
8 Monte Carlo ePrix  Monaco TBA 9 May 2015
9 Berlin ePrix  Germany Berlin Tempelhof Airport 30 May 2015
10 London ePrix  United Kingdom TBA 27 June 2015

Formula E: Round 1 Beijing ePrix


Race results

01 11 Lucas di Grassi Audi Sport ABT 25 52:23.413 127.5 1:46.718 19
02 27 Franck Montagny Andretti Autosport 25 52:26.280 2.867 127.4 1:46.640 24
03 2 Sam Bird Virgin Racing 25 52:29.972 6.559 3.692 127.2 1:46.563 21
04 28 Charles Pic Andretti Autosport 25 52:42.714 19.301 12.742 126.7 1:46.730 23
05 5 Karun Chandhok Mahindra Racing 25 52:47.365 23.952 4.651 126.5 1:45.892 20
06 7 Jerome d’Ambrosio Dragon Racing 25 52:55.077 31.664 7.712 126.2 1:47.313 24
07 6 Oriol Servia Dragon Racing 25 53:05.381 41.968 10.304 125.8 1:47.361 21
08 99 Nelson Piquet China Racing 25 53:07.309 43.896 1.928 125.7 1:47.819 18
09 30 Stephane Sarrazin Venturi 25 53:07.388 43.975 0.079 125.7 1:47.832 17
10 66 Daniel Abt Audi Sport ABT 25 53:25.920 1:02.507 125.0 1:46.551 17
11 3 Jaime Alguersuari Virgin Racing 25 54:24.026 2:00.613 122.8 1:47.914 7
12 8 Nicolas Prost (P) e.dams-Renault 24 50:31.252 1 Lap 126.9 1:46.227 24
13 23 Nick Heidfeld Venturi 24 50:31.881 1 Lap 126.9 1:46.214 24
14 18 Michela Cerruti Trulli 24 52:41.375 1 Lap 121.7 1:49.469 15
15 77 Katherine Legge Amlin Aguri 24 53:24.538 1 Lap 120.1 1:48.753 21
16 88 Ho-Pin Tung China Racing 23 53:58.750 2 Laps 113.8 1:48.793 16
17 55 Takuma Sato (FL) Amlin Aguri 21 50:52.279 1:45.101 21
18 9 Sébastien Buemi e.dams-Renault 14 37:24.671 1:45.874 13
19 10 Jarno Trulli Trulli 2 41:22.799 1:52.596 2

Formula E is here

Formula E cars drive into a corner during the Formula E Championship race in Beijing

Formula E is here. The first motor-racing championship featuring all-electric cars began its inaugural season in Beijing on Saturday, and it was won in an exciting finish by Audi Sport’s Lucas Di Grassi after leader Nicolas Prost crashed at the final corner.

Formula E arrives and takes over city centers for a day, which encompasses practice, qualifying laps, and the race itself. The races only last an hour and each team has two cars—the organizers haven’t quite figured out a way to safely change batteries in one car nor make one battery last the whole race, so there’s a switch halfway through the race.

It’s very different than Formula One, which takes place mostly in dedicated racetracks like Monza, where the build-up to the races take place over the leisurely course of a long weekend. The 10 teams have exactly the same cars, unlike In Formula One, where the teams each make their own cars within rules set by the FIA, the world motor-sporting body.